Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

A little bit of flow…. April 14, 2008

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 10:31 pm
Tags: ,

Well, something seemed to work yesterday! Suddenly, my block just evaporated!

I wrote about how much I wished I had my sense of fun and adventure back, the fun I had writing my JanNo, when I wasn’t trying to be a real writer, just trying to finish the story with no expectations at all that it would be “good”.

Then the shift happened, almost like magic. I just realised I had been taking this all too seriously. I’d set myself this great big goal of becoming a published writer, and let that overtake the sheer joy of writing. It was truly like a switch being flicked. Suddenly I had that feeling back, the feeling I had thought was gone, was just somehow there again.

So I started writing. Real words. In order. On the story. Two and a half thousand words later, chapter seven, where I have been stuck for two weeks, is finished! And a little part of my mind is jumping about and turning cartwheels and going wild!

I don’t know if it’s any good, but it doesn’t matter, I’m writing! I’ll worry about whether it is good or bad when I come to edit it. As Kate Walker says, you can’t edit a blank page. Hopefully I can strengthen bad writing, but I can’t do anything with no writing.

(The gorgeous cat painting is from http://bengalized.com/art/t&u%20holidays.htm)

 

Leave a Reply

