Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Lightbulb monents April 16, 2008

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 12:00 am
Tags: ,

 

I was thinking about those “aha” moments, when the writing suddenly flows, or new ideas seem to appear out of nowhere that make sense of everything. MIne often seem to come in my bath. I’m not sure why, warmth, relaxation, something womb-like.  If only I could take my laptop into the bathroom or someone would invent a waterproof notebook, I’d be all set. As it is I have to try to kep the idea in my head until I can run to my bedroom to write it down.  Makes me wonder if Archimedes really did run naked through the streets when he had his Eureka moment in  the bathtub?

Anyway, I had a couple of nice little insights into things that will strengthen my story and make the conflict more understandable just pop into my head in the bath tonight.  I can’t wait to start rewriting with all the new information I have now about the characters, and why they make the choices they do. I think a real flaw in my first chapter was that there simply wasn’t enough reason for then to do what they did. This led to the choices they made and the things they did seeming impulsive and stupid, or even worse as if I was making them happen just because the plot demanded it and not because given who they were at that moment in time, the character could not have decided anything else.  

I must finish the first draft first though, before I rewrite chapetr one again, so I don’t fall into that old trap of trying so hard to get the beginning perfect (ha, very unlikely anyway!) by rewriting and rewriting and rewriting so many times that the ending never gets written at all.

 

Leave a Reply

