Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Tired…. April 17, 2008

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 11:50 pm
Tags: ,


Tiredness seems to be constant lately. Wake up tired, arrive at work tired, go home tired. Cook and eat some simple food, have a bath, go to sleep, wake up tired again. Go to work again, repeat entire cycle. Somewhere in there, find time to write.

I don’t feel its necessarily a realistic expectation that I will write any story words on a work day, as I work four long days and have three days off each week. I do want to do as much work as I can on character and plot development, and also be open to new ideas, like last night’s. Then when I sit down on my non-work days to write, hopefully I will be fired up and ready to go. I really need to aim to average at least two and a half thousand story words, or half a chapter, each day I am not working, to keep the story momentum going.

That will still give a very repectable first draft in seven weeks (range six to eight, depending how things go). Allowing two weeks for pre writing, and at least a month for editing, that gives possibly three completed books a year. That seems amazingly optimistic for someone working full time at a busy and stressful job, with a long commute, though I know other writers with more demands on their time manage it.

If I can keep to that schedule, more or less, my writing will improve dramatically.  Ursula le Guin said – “You sit down and you do it, and you do it, and you do it, until you have learned to do it. ” I just hope it doesn’t take too many practice novels to crack it….

Is this an impossible dream? I don’t know. But I do intend to find out!

 

Leave a Reply

