Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

I hope I can write better… May 18, 2008

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 1:01 am
Tags: , ,

… than I can take photos, ‘cos these are lousy photos of a wonderful bunch of women. They all look much better than this in real life, promise!

Suzanne Clarke, fab Harlequin Mills & Boon editor; Natasha Oakley and Kate Hardy (standing), and Trish Wylie and Kate Walker (seated), all fab writers. At the Mills and Boon Centenary event at the Lincoln Book Festival. A great evening with lots of laughs!

I will write more about the day soon, and the workshop with Kate Walker, but right now Gabe is calling, 6’3″ of sexy muscular Irishman. I need to finish reading Trish’s “Claimed by the Billionaire Bad Boy” – it is hot, hot, hot! I can see why the tagline for the Modern Heat series is “sizzling, stylish, sensual- the ultimate temptation”, as this story certainly lives up to that promise.

 

2 Responses to “I hope I can write better…”

  1. Janet Says:

    I was at that workshop too. 🙂 Where were you sitting?

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hi Janet, thanks for visiting! 🙂

    I may well have spoken to you there, but I can be absolutely useless with names at times and I’m sad and embarrased to say I’ve completely forgotten everyone’s names- even the fab two I had lunch with!

    I sat on the left hand side (for someone standing at the back facing the front of the roon) towards the front, at both the afternoon and evening sessions. I’m a plump redhead, late 40’s, I was wearing turquoise and brown that day.

    Please would you remind me of who you are?


Leave a Reply

