Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Writing the Alpha hero April 21, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , ,

hugh1 The wonderful Kate Walker has a too-good-to-miss series on the Alpha hero running at her blog. Lots of fab info on writing strong sexy heros, plus piccies of Hugh Jackman too! What’s not to love?

I may be quiet for a while because I am busy wrapping up things in my old job before I leave, and I’m also doing April Kihlstrom’s Book in a Week workshop. So far it is truly excellent, I’m learning loads and the way I see my story and characters has been totally transformed. The format is three weeks writing preparation, one week intensive writing, and a week on editing. The writing week just happens to be the week I’ve given myself off between jobs. It’s going to be fun!

 

4 Responses to “Writing the Alpha hero”

  1. Janet Says:

    I like the sound of that Book In A Week workshop. Do you get feedback on your ideas or just lectures?

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    I’m impressed with the level of feedback- thoughful and constructive comments on every post made. She’s good at asking the right questiosn to get us thinking deeper about our stories.

  3. Janet Says:

    Sounds great. When does the next one start?

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    I asked but she hasn’t got any firm dates planned yet. You can sign up to the group here to get announcements of the next group.


Leave a Reply

