Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Interesting writing contest? June 3, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:39 pm
Tags:

6a00e550020195883401156fc472bf970c

I saw this contest today for a serialised novel in just about any romance genre, to be sent to readers in installments via email or text message. There’s a publishing contract with Dorchester as the prize. I like the idea of the discipline of writing what is in effect one  or two chapters in a standard romance (6,000- 10,000 words) as twenty chapters of less than 500 words. What a challenge to come up with all those hooks at the end of each chapter to convince the reader to download the next chapter!

What do you think?

 

2 Responses to “Interesting writing contest?”

  1. Eileen Says:

    That sounds insanely difficult.

    (possibly because the directions confuse me) they want a condensed 6-10k “cell” novel and they want a full length novel 50k+ should you win… maybe? … heh. Okay. Sure.

    I doubt I’d have anything for this contest anyway. I just started editing the romance I wrote in Jan08; the editing seems to take as much as the writing did! *sigh* But the good news is that my new writing project is going well enough that I can spend time editing the old project. I’m very happy in the place I am now.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Wow, excellent progress! I’m so glad it’s going well. I’m slowly making progress, up to just under 55,000 words which should of course be a finished first draft for the series I’m aiming at, but I still have at least 10,000 to go, maybe more. Editing will be interesting! Yeah, I wasn’t sure exactly what they were looking for in the contest. Was it a complete condensed novel in 6,000 words, that was the same plotas the 50,000 word version? Was it the first 6,000 words of what would be the completed 50,000 word story? I really didn’t know. Immaterial anyway, as I have to finish this first draft before I can start anything new! But the technical challenge of it intrigues me.Especially as I have a massive issue with overwriting. Being limited to 500 word chapters would give me much needed practice in writing tight andfocused.


Leave a Reply

