Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Out of focus June 20, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 1:50 pm
Tags: , ,

out of focus

I have the whole weekend to write in, and no idea what to write.

Luk and Emma are still were they were, happily having lots of fantastic sex but just starting to feel vaguely dissatisfied with things as they are. Now something needs to change, one of them needs to trigger the chain of events that will lead to the Black Moment. It has to flow out of who they are and what their relationship blocks are.

This is where I have always come unstuck big time in the past. My conflicts have been externally based.

Maybe starting at the HEA and working backwards, writing out of order as  Karyn suggested, would work. The key thing I need to know is this- what has to change for them to get to that HEA? What are their emotional issues at the moment, and how do they need to change and grow?

Okay, the sex is great. But one or both of them needs more than that. What is stopping them moving forward into a full and deep loving relationship? What has to change for them to reach a satisfying believable these-two-are-going-to-be-together-for-the-rest-of-their-lives?

I’m starting to think the problem is that I simply don’t know these characters well enough, despite all the time I’ve spent with them. They still aren’t alive enough, too much of them is still vague, blurry, out of focus.

I need to ask Luk and Emma some questions, find out how they feel right now, what they want the most, what they fear the most.

Then maybe we can all move forward!

 

 

 

Two hours later

Yay! It’s working! I haven’t even done the interview thing with Luk and Emma I wanted to do, just started writing the resolution. The characters are saying out loud to each other what needed to be fixed to get them there!

 

3 Responses to “Out of focus”

  1. Karyn Good Says:

    I’m glad the words are coming. Have a great writing weekend. 😉

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    You too! And thanks for the suggestion of writing scenes out of order, it’s working even better than I hoped it would!

  3. Eileen Says:

    This made me laugh: “Okay, the sex is great. But one or both of them needs more than that. ”

    for a HEA hopefully both of them need more than sex!


Leave a Reply

