Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

General freakiness July 12, 2009

Filed under: General strangeness of life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:28 pm
Tags:

ClipFoodBowl

This post has nothing to do with writing, just the bizarreness of life in general.

I was searching for a picture on internal conflict for the last post (I am a visual person, I like pictures that give me the feel of what I am trying to say). 

I found this, on a Google Image Search for “internal conflict”. 

Okay, a picture of a cat food bowl coming up on a search for internal conflict is a bit odd.

The thing that is really freaky is- we have the identical bowl, full of identical food. It’s on my kitchen floor right now. And the picture was on a Neil Gaiman website. 

I’m not sure if it means anything or not, like I should read a Neil Gaiman book, or at the very least watch “Stardust”. Probably means nothing except that life is surprising. 

I know I’ve seen this discussion somewhere before, but which Neil Gaiman book is best to start with, for someone who’s never read his stuff before?

 

6 Responses to “General freakiness”

  1. Eileen Says:

    I’m afraid I’m not seeing the connection between kitty kibble and Neil Gaiman.

    I tried reading Anansi Boys and didn’t get far in it. Great premise but by page 50 I’d returned it to the library. The same for most of his short stories. Maybe you should start with Stardust, American Gods or the Graveyard Book (though I’ve not read any of them) as they have gotten the most acclaim.

    Me? I’m settling back in to finish that Kate Hardy book I bought … which is surprisingly slow considering it’s opening chapter. Darn hook got me!

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Ack- stupid me forgot to include the minor detail that the photo was on Neil Gaiman’s website. It really is totally identical to the bowl of cat food on my kitchen floor.

    Not really that freaky, just odd.

    Which Kate Hardy is it, BTW? I bought two more today, after finding that I bought the wrong format last time and can’t read it on my PDA.

    I didn’t do much reading this weekend as I was focusing on the conflict issues in my story. But I do want to read her later stories to see how she manages the more Alpha Modern Heat hero.

  3. Eileen Says:

    The Kate Hardy novel was Surrender to the Playboy Sheikh. It’s in the most recent batch of releases — are those supposed to be the more Alpha-Alphas? Although I think my sense of ‘alpha male’ might have been skewed by reading paranormal romances; it’s easy to have an incredibly alpha hero when he’s half wolf or all vampire. 🙂

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    Ah, that’s the one I’m reading now. So far my usual type of hero isn’t to far off from what she’s written this one as. ASFAIK this is the more Alpha hero, though I don’t notice that much difference between Karim and her earlier MH heroes. Just richer and a little more used to getting his own way. The MH hero is not so much the traditional alpha type guy from a Presents. I also have a Heidi Rice and a Natalie Anderson to read to get a feel for their heroes.
    Hmm, paranormal heroes by definition out Alpha the Presents hero any day- they quite literally are the Leader of the Pack! Plus, the change in the heroine’s life they might create is very “no going back”. It’s interesting the debate about the “turning” of the heroine in paranormals being akin to the rape by the hero of the virgin heroine in older historicals. Smart Bitches have said some interesting stuff on this. What do you think? (Confessing here I have not read many paranormals- just the one Nocture Bite I won, which I was seriously underimpressed with- maybe if I’d read some Gena Showalter or Nalini Singh I would have more of an idea of the genre)

  5. Eileen Says:

    If I remember right, I read that Nocturne Bite that you won and “underimpressed” may be too soft a word for what I felt for it. J R Ward has some amazing paranormal Alphas … but then at the end of book 4 beginning of book 5 it went from cool vampires to just plain weird.

    I tried to find the discussion on SBTB about “turning”/ rape and I just ended up skimming a discussion about Twilight that made me want to read the series EVEN LESS than I already did. Vampires SHOULD NOT GLITTER. EVER. Moving on …

    Perhaps this is why I continually seek out “born not bitten” paranormal romances. In these, if the woman doesn’t already know she’s a vampire it’s because she was orphaned at birth or something like that, but sooner or later genetics will tell and she’ll find out what she really is, with the help of Mr. Dark & Gorgeous of course. In these same worlds the vampires (or wolves, or whatevers) occasionally date mortal women or women who already know what species they are but there’s no “turning” them into anything else because it’s jut not possible if you weren’t born that way. And now that I’m thinking about it as turning=rape I totally understand why I avoid the “turning” novels; they create the same emotion in me as the almost-rape-that-was-okay-because-she-actually-enjoyed-it novels. I accidentally read one of those about two years ago. It was from 1980 but it had been reissued with an “updated” cover and I didn’t realize it until it was too late.

    amazon keeps showing me Gena Showalter books as “you’d like this!” but I’ve yet to read one. C L Wilson has some sweet romantic fantasy novels. Not “paranormal” but of the same bent as those I love.

  6. Eileen Says:

    As an example of the “or whatever” he might really be, dragon: as in You Slay Me by Katie MacAlister


Leave a Reply

