Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

One Wedding and No Funeral July 14, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 7:49 pm

_96637_four_weddings_and_a_funeral_poster_300

I’m having fun getting to know Ellie and Mace better, and especially thinking about what it is that keeps them apart.

Discovering they are business rivals after they’ve spent the weekend together is only the beginning!

More fun is that for research purposes I need to watch Four Weddings and a Funeral, a film I adore and haven’t watched for ages. Though I think this story will have only one wedding, and I hope no funerals, it’s just the film to get me in the right frame of mind.

 

4 Responses to “One Wedding and No Funeral”

  1. Chris Smith Says:

    Mulberry – sorry – feel so rude not replying to your rOMANCE Forum question/ comment, but frantic with non-writing stuff. will post reply this weekend. In meantime, interesting Subcare advice, as well as Liz Fielding’s! All the best with your writing in the meantime – Chris

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Don’t even think about apologising, Chris. Real life is such a nuisance, getting in the way of writing as it does!

    I just saw that difference of opinion on the M&B forum. I think both Michelle and Liz are correct!

    Michelle, because if a writer knows in their heart which line they want to write for, it could be a big mistake submitting and getting accpeted to a line that’s not their first love. The editors don’t like writer’s to change lines until they have several books under their belt, and even then would want the person to write for both, not just quit the line they started with. It would be painful to be stuck writing Moderns when someone really wants to be writing historicals or paranormals! That person just needs to stay focused and keep on targetting their chosen line.

    On the other hand, some of us aren’t sure where our voice best fits, and are still exploring different lines, which are the people I think LIz is talking to. I’m all over the place, one day I think Romance, another day Modern Heat, another day Little Black Dress. I could happily imagine tailoring my writing for any of them!

    Before this contest was announced, my plan was to experiment with writing the same story as both a MH and as a LBD, just to see which was more fun and which worked better. So far my writing friends say go for MH because they liked that exerpt better than the LBD one. Though I think that could have been simply because the MH snippet was far sexier and those girls like their smut sensuality!

    Hope your writing is going well no matter what you decide to do regarding the comp!

  3. Lorraine Says:

    Hi Mulberry,

    Just wanted to pop by to say I picked up some advice/tips from the RNA conference that I thought were interesting about the difference between the lines. On comment in particular during the M&B seminar made me think about what you’ve said about your style of writing.
    If you’d like the (shortish!) notes I’ve written up from the weekend you’re very welcome to them, just email me (assuming as my email address is required to post here you can access it) and I’ll whizz them over.

  4. Eileen Says:

    New blog address: http://redwineromance.blogspot.com — the old one’s still there, I just wanted someplace to write some of this stuff without overfilling your comments section so much!


Leave a Reply

