Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Simplify, simplify! July 16, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , ,

I had what I hope is a breakthrough on the internal conflict in Luk and Emma’s story today, while idly throwing around ideas for conflict in new stories during my commute.

I finally figured it out. I’ve been over-complicating things.

I’d given Luk too many conflicts, and stayed superficial with all of them. What he needs is just one conflict, but one that runs deep. That instantly gives it the importance to him that was lacking.

I can take out the cliches of the abandoning mother and the gold-digger first girlfriend who broke his heart. I can put back the bossy older sisters who I really didn’t want to cut. It give a nice echo of the past to the story too, as Luk’s life choices echo Emma’s grandfather’s, up to a point.

This is just what I hoped would happen when I spent some time focused on cooking up a new idea but with their story still simmering away in the background.

Now I just have to write it!

 

2 Responses to “Simplify, simplify!”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    This reminds me of the best advice I ever heard about conflict – Keep it Simple, Dig Deep.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Kate Walker. I think I bookmarked that post on her blog. Must go back and read it again! http://kate-walker.blogspot.com/2009/03/keep-it-simple-dig-deep.html

    You know how sometimes we can read and hear things and appreciate then intellectually, but not really understand it until much later? I think that’s what’s happened with this.


Leave a Reply

