Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Modern Heat? Pass me a fan! July 18, 2009

Filed under: What I'm reading — Autumn Macarthur @ 6:49 pm
Tags: , ,

9781408909386_Outside_Front_Cover_00000000-145-231-24-jpegOh my, I have just read a brilliant Modern Heat!

I know, I know,  I’m supposed to be working on editing Luk and Emma. But I can claim it as research for my story.

I was looking for a file I wanted and saw my e-books, figured just one chapter of this one wouldn’t hurt, would it? Then, drat her for writing so well, I read straight through until I finished it. A fab example of the perfect use of very strong yet simple internal conflict.

It was a June release here in the UK, Heidi Rice’s Hot-Shot Tycoon, Indecent Proposal

A delicious Irish hero, the deepest most emotional (gave me a pain in my chest as I read it!) yet 100% believable internal conflict I think I’ve ever come across, a funny feisty heroine swept off her feet into a new world of wealth and glamour, and red-hot sensuality. Hoo boy. What a mix!

Could just be my new measure for the ideal MH story.

 

7 Responses to “Modern Heat? Pass me a fan!”

  1. Karen Says:

    Hope you don’t mind but I mentioned your blog over at the

    http://www.prairiechickswriteromance.blogspot.com

    as a lovely blog to visit.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hey, how could anyone in their right mind object to that? I visited Prairie Chicks for the first time on the weekend and read some great posts there.

  3. Karen Says:

    Glad you came for a visit! Enjoying your posts on conflict as I’m about to start my second revision on my wip and that’s what I’ll be focusing on adding in.

    Happy writing!

  4. Caroline Says:

    Hi Jane. Got this link via Heidi Rice’s blog site. As a wouldbewriter myself – HM&B Historicals in my case – your blog site struck a chord. I’ve now added your blogsite to my list of “favourites”. Keep up the good work and keep posting. One day we might get there! Take care. Caroline x

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    HI Caroline, thanks for visiting. Are you “brisk, capable…if only” Caroline from the M&B community?

  6. Caroline Says:

    Hi Jane. As far as I am aware I’m not the “brisk, capable…if only” Caroline from the M&B Community – sorry! I’m just Caroline from wet north Wales! LOL Take care. Caroline x

  7. waitingforthecall Says:

    No need to be sorry! I had seen a Caroline who posts there and wondered if you were the same person.
    I think almost everywhere is wet right now. We had such a heavy downpour yesterday in my little Bedfordshire town the streets were flooded!


Leave a Reply

