Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Editing fail? July 24, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 10:28 am
Tags: ,

No work at all on editing Luk and Emma’s story.

Work stress and generally feeling moody cow-ish. Took it out on my husband last night in an almighty row that blew up out of nothing.

Now if only I could turn that frustrated bitchiness loose on my characters and make them really suffer! I want everything to be rosy and sweet and happy in my little story world.  It’s not working.

Memo to self- no-one wants to read a story where they all live happily ever after on page one. 

We want to read characters going through hell, working hard to earn their HEA. Maybe it’s the old principle of catharsis, feeling bad about what happens for the characters helps us release our own feelings of grief and anger. Maybe it’s just that so much awful stuff happens in real life that we want some affirmation that it will all come good in the end, the hope it will work out like that for us as well the characters. One thing for sure, being light and fun and fluffy and keeping things nice for my characters is not producing a readable story!

I need to stop being kind to them and find their painful places, them poke at them a bit. Then a bit more. Then a bit more again.

A good blog post about  Jodi Thomas’s session on plotting from character at the RNA Conference over at Novel Racers today. It ties in well with what I know I need, as the focus is on finding out what our characters least want to do, them making them do it!

 

Leave a Reply

