Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Reading, reading, reading…but not writing September 12, 2009

Filed under: What I'm reading,Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:47 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, I confess. I’ve been a total slacker and have done no writing at all this week.

I feel strangely relaxed, like a kid let out of school. I know I’ll start writing again soon, the characters will start nagging me to write their story! But in the meantime, I’m realising just how much pressure I was putting on myself to write.

Somehow, I need to find a balance. Find a way to write regularly and consistently, but without turning it into a miserable, creativity-destroying chore. Somehow, find the joy in writing again. I don’t know how to do that yet. I do know that lately I’ve seen writing as a  miserable task to be completed, rather than a pleasure, apart from the odd moments when I’m in the flow and the words just come like magic.

In the meantime, I’m happy planning a trip back to Australia in a couple of weeks, sewing a suitcase full of clothes to wear (loving expressing that very practical side of my creativity again!), and reading plenty to refill the well.

I just found this link to ten free Mills and Boon ebooks, to celebrate a year of them doing ebooks. Yay! More fab books to read!  And there’s a Modern Heat from Heidi Rice in there! I’m even happier to see they support Mobipocket, the ebook format I use on my PDA so I can read on my commute or wherever, without filling my already ridiculously overloaded bag with paperback books  (I really do carry the biggest tote in the world to work with me everyday!).

So thank you M&B.

 

7 Responses to “Reading, reading, reading…but not writing”

  1. Steph Says:

    LOL it all sounds so familiar. 🙂

    I’ve downloaded the books already onto my ebook reader and have started on that Heidi Rice novel while enjoying the sunshine. My my…

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Are you “not writing” too?
    There’s an #amwriting hashtag on Twitter- naughty me feels very like starting a #notwriting one every time I see it. I’m a baaaaaad girl!

  3. Eileen Says:

    yeah. I’ve been writing but they’re mostly notes and morning pages. I’m just working to empty my brain onto the page … so I’m feeling the same way. But there’s something delicious about “vacation” time.

  4. Jodie Miller Says:

    Have a wonderful journey ‘home’ Jane. I’m currently ‘not writing’ as well, or at least, not writing what I want to be writing. Will get there. I always enjoy reading where you’re at with your writing. I don’t feel so bad! 😉

  5. Eileen Says:

    ACK! So, I’ve become so distracted. Semester started and it started hard core. My classes are so much more challenging than they were last fall — because I’m teaching more? because the workshops are set up different? I don’t know. But the MB contest I want(ed) to enter has become the furthest thing from my mind. 😦

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    Sounds like things have been challenging, Eileen! It sucks when all your other plans suddenly have to be put on hold. The good thing about M&B is that we can get our work seen by an editor (or at least an EA or reader) anytime. But I hope things get easier for you as you settle into a new term! If you can get the writing that is most important to you personally done, that’s the main thing.

    I’m still not writing, apart from some journalling, though I know I will start again soon. This week will be busy and stressful, as we are short staffed at work, and I’m getting ready for a trip to Australia next week. I’m hoping to do some writing on the plane. When I go back to work things should get easier as a new staff member is joining the team, so I’m hoping my workload may become more realistically doable in 40 hours!

    I still have this fantasy that I should be able to make time to write no matter what’s going on in my real life. That’s true to an extent. But not to pt pressure on myself that I “should” obsessively write every spare minute. I think I really burned myself trying to do that, when I was coming home brain fried and exhausted. Journalling, sure, but the focus needed for a full length story just hasn’t been possible, and its shown in my writing. Giving myself this time out has been just what I needed. Now I need to rethink, find a way I can make writing part of my life every day, but keep the fun and play in it too.

  7. Bola Says:

    Nice stumbling on your blog like this.I’m an avid reader, don’t think i can write though, inbetween taking care of my family and work, i don’t think i can cope. But it’s nice to know we have an aspiring author in you.

    Best wishes.


Leave a Reply

