Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

November 1 November 1, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 4:12 pm
Tags: , ,

Means NaNoWriMo!

I wasn’t going to do it this year. I set myself the goal of rewriting/editing Luk and Emma’s story instead, just in case I got a full request. Did not want to have to say to a lovely Mills and Boon editor “Well, um, the thing is, the rest of my story is a 60,000 word pile of steaming cow dung and it won’t be ready to submit for at least three months.” I was planning to go with The Intern and do NaNoReVisMo. Get The Playboy’s  Virgin Princess Bride (or whatever I’m calling Luk and Emma at the moment) at least second drafted all the way through. It would be a valuable learning experience, for sure.

But… but…

I’m so frigging bored with Luk and Emma’s story! I really really really want to start something new. Or even better, something old/new, like the Australian bush nurse story I started back in 2000 or 2001. And lets face it, what are the odds of getting a full request on Luk and Emma? I will be sooooooo mad if I spend another month on them and then get a skinny little R thanks but no thanks email in December. I don’t want another “learning experience”, I want to have some fun writing new characters in a new situation.

Would it really be so bad to let Luk and Emma sit for a month, and dive into a new story?

Or is this just another completion avoidance technique? I actually adore Luk and Emma. I want to give them their HEA. I’m gonna feel so bad if I just leave them dangling ‘cos I wanna run off and play with some newer shiny characters and have that lovely getting-to-know-you, falling in love thing all over again.

Do you know what I just realised the fear is? I don’t want to read any further into my first draft of Luk and Emma. ‘Cos I don’t want to have to deal with what a mess it really is. It’s easier to start something new. It’s less scary to start something new.

Okay. Now I know why I’ve been procrastinating all day.

Luk and Emma it is.

 

5 Responses to “November 1”

  1. Janet Says:

    I like the sound of the Australian bush nurse story. I vote you go with that 🙂

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hi Janet! How are you? You entered the Presents/ Modern comp too, didn’t you? Good luck if so!

    I like the bush nurse story a lot. I can see a lot of the scenes very clearly, but I know I still need to develop the emotional conflicts more. My favourite scene is where the hero finds her skinny dipping in the river- very sensual. I seem to like naked swimming scenes- I have one in Luk and Emma’s story too, except she accidentally spies on him this time!

    The main issue with the bush nurse story is I’m not at all sure it fits any existing series- the heroine is a nurse and there is medical stuff happening, but it’s definitely NOT a “Medical”. Anyway, Kate and Adam need to wait until December now. I decided to be disciplined and second draft Luk and Emma all the way through for my November project.

    How about you, are you Nanoing?

  3. Eileen Says:

    Oh I like the bush nurse / skinny dipping story too! Maybe it’s a Blaze or a Desire. Don’t think of the medical stuff as a Medical — just think of how it’s kind of normal for their job or skills or talents to end up in the story.

  4. Janet Says:

    I didn’t enter the Presents comp–no ideas! I’m taking a break from writing to read a few books, hoping that will help.

    Definitely like the sound of your bush nurse story and the skinny dipping H. Couldn’t you make it a medical? Or do you like to get away from medical stuff once you get home from work?

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    It seems compulsory for the hero to be a doctor. Mine is a wounded war correspondent (though he was a medic when he was in the army- but that’s more like being a paramedic than a doctor). And Medical heroes are so Alphaed up now. It’s not enough to be a doctor, they have to be a billionaire, sheikh, or prince too. Which is great for readers, but not so easy for me to write. I just can’t get the fantasy thing going with something I’ve worked so closely with! I wonder if this story would work for one of the lines edited out of North America, maybe a Superromance or Special Edition. Not sure if they are open to Australian stories, as I’ve only read North American settings that I can recall. Maybe I’ll just enjoy writing it, and worry about where it might fit later, though that’s probably a recipe for an unsaleable book!


Leave a Reply

