Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Good grief! November 10, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:12 pm
Tags:

544 entries in the Presents/ Modern competition? That’s seriously scary.

I was hoping for something closer to two hundred.

 

17 Responses to “Good grief!”

  1. Maisey Says:

    Yeah, but, you know, they’re all full of zombie forced seduction scene…

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    We can hope! Those poor girls at Richmond, having to read all those. The photos on I Heart were clearly the Before. This is the After- http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/2588650/2/istockphoto_2588650-exhausted.jpg

  3. Amy Says:

    Maybe we’ll get lucky and three quarter of the entries will be either sci-fi or paranormal romances written in crayon . . .

    amy

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL Amy, that’s the only way my entry will have any chance!

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Yes, I must admit the editors have a challenge ahead of them. But hey, they must like what they are doing. I would. It would be the thrill of finding those manuscripts that fit so well and are full of dialogue with that sexual tension and chemistry.

    So many have entered and only a few chosen, I’m not holding my breath too much now. lol…

    Good Luck everyone who entered. 🙂

  6. Eileen Says:

    eep! I was thinking 400ish but yeah. They’ve got a huge task ahead of them. Still, I think the most heartening tales on the blog these past few months have been from the people who didn’t win the last contest but who were asked for fulls and eventually got published that way.

  7. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hi Suzanne! You are so right! The editors look at the pile of entries as a pile of possibilities. What a buzz it must be for them to find a new writer!

    Eileen, that’s right. I never hoped to win anyway, a full request is my goal!

    The best thing for me has been knowing that my entry this year is so much better than my last submission was. Even if I’m not quite “there” yet, I know I’m a hell of a lot closer.

  8. Caroline Says:

    Yike! The odds are stacked aren’t they!? Hey ho – best of luck to everyone! Take care. Caroline x

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Luckily the editors can make as many full requests as they want, so we could all end up happy bunnies! And a lot of the entries will be just plain unsuitable- like the flying troll type stories entered in the Instant Seduction competition. That helps the odds a lot! I think my expectations were set by the 150 they got for Feel the Heat, but of course that was only for Modern Heat stories. Fingers crossed for us all!

  10. lori Burke Says:

    One must wonder how many of the entries truly fit the Presents/Modern Heat Guidelines. I read and studied the series very carefully to match sure my story matched the guidelines. You can’t send any work in progress and think it will fit the series.

  11. waitingforthecall Says:

    Lori, I’m sure you are right. Many of the entries won’t be properly targeted to the line at all, which will give those of us who know and love Presents and Modern Heat a better chance!

  12. Eileen Says:

    flying troll type stories? Do I even want to know the story behind that reference? lol

  13. lori Burke Says:

    Did anybody else consider enlarging the picture to see if they could spot their story among the printed out copies?

  14. waitingforthecall Says:

    The editors reported they had one entered in Instant Seduction. No matter how good it was, it sure wasn’t Presents!

  15. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, you’d need good eyes for that! And what if yours was allocated to the more environmentally conscious editor? Actually, I’m hoping all of ours would have been printed out. It would be a good strategy to weed out the obvious unsuitable stories (the just not targeted to the line at all ones) on the screen and only print out the possibles that they might want to d a closer read of. Fingers crossed ours were in that pile!

  16. Lori Burke Says:

    Today (November 18th) I turn 45, I dreamed my entry was read by the editors and they called me to develop it for the Modern Heat. It was a great “Present” and a lovely dream. BTW, I also work as a nurse. Small world!

  17. waitingforthecall Says:

    Happy birthday Lori and I sooooooo much hope your dream is prophetic!


Leave a Reply

