Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Not that we do it for the money… November 11, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:18 pm
Tags: ,

…that would make us literary harlots, but I was interested to see that Brenda Hiatt has updated Show Me the Money, her info page on what different romance publishers pay.

It’s based on what authors tell her, and makes fascinating reading. Harlequin Mills and Boon Presents, the line I would love to write for, doesn’t have an average payout figure listed, so clearly Presents writers are keeping schtum about their earnings.

I know I’d want to keep writing even if I never get published and earn a penny for it. The character voices in my head won’t let me stop. (NOT something I plan to tell the psychiatrist I work with!)

But being able to quit the day job and keep my household on what I write is a long time dream. My DH can’t work due to health problems, so he is househusband, and I’m breadwinner.

Being paid for what I do for love would be a nice bonus!

 

8 Responses to “Not that we do it for the money…”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Thanks for this. Also a useful aide memoir for other publishers out there as well. Thanks! Take care. Caroline x

  2. Amy Says:

    Literary harlot has such a nice ring to it. Where can I sign up?

    Seriously, a very helpful link. And I’m with you . . . I’ll be writing whether I get published or not.

  3. waitingforthecall Says:

    Literary harlot does sound like a fun thing to be, doesn’t it!

  4. Eileen Says:

    “I know I’d want to keep writing even if I never get published and earn a penny for it. ” —>I think that’s key. Actually, I think if that isn’t true then you shouldn’t be paid a penny for it! 🙂

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    True. But getting paid for what we love doing- best of all! I’m finally looking forward to diving into editing Luk and Emma’s story. The Negativity Fairy seems to hav departed, for the time being anyway. Even thnk I might read the first draft for the first time. I’ve got myself so convinced it’s all rubbish that I might just get a couple of nice little surprises! How’s your Nano going? The premise sounded fab!

  6. Eileen Says:

    Ah … the NaNo novel stopped and the NaNo memoir started. I’m at just under 19000 words so a little behind but I have an external deadline this weekend which should redeem my word count. I was just too busy for the novel on top of the memoir I’m writing for class.

  7. Eileen Says:

    Yeah. Life has been crazy this week: http://speakcoffeetome.blogspot.com

  8. waitingforthecall Says:

    I love the way you put that-
    Have you ever felt like the moment you get comfortable in your own skin you’re asked to dance naked in it?

    Sounds as if it’s been a roller-coaster week. Fab chance to focus on what means most to you, and yay for the finances allowing it. This is your chance to be true to yourself and let loose. Find out what you can do- scary but exciting.

    Enjoy dancing naked! If you’re stripping yourself for the memoir anyway, may as well dance while you are at it.


Leave a Reply

