Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

What makes an Alpha hero? November 29, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 12:14 am
Tags: ,

My brilliant friend Aideen emailed this yesterday-

It was a documentary on men. Not just any old men, men that were bullied as children and had turned their lives around by becoming….Body Builders! One man, a very attractive man, offered up some advice. I wrote it down. Now I’m putting it up here.

Mark Something or other had the following to say;

“The true Alpha male is not a bully or a brute. He is the guy who is first to lead the charge for a worthy cause. He is supremely equipped, physically and mentally, to fight for success in the ultra-competitive world we inhabit.
The true Alpha male embodies the best characteristics of the male of our species, namely rugged outer qualities such as muscularity, strength and power, but also inner qualities such as confidence (without conceit), courage (without recklessness), committment and a conscience.
The true Alpha male has the combination of physical and mental toughness but also a concern for other humans as a whole.
A true Alpha male meets the ideal of contemporary masculine excellence. In other words, the true Alpha male has all the core qualities of a hero.”

There, what do you think about that? I realise it’s nothing we don’t already know but I think this guy summed it up pretty neat.

I love Mark’s description. That is soooooooo what I want my heroes to be.

Not the obnoxious Alphole stereotype I seem to create when I try to Alpha them up.

(I can’t reference this quote properly, as I don’t know for sure where it comes from and neither does Aideen. If anyone knows the name of the speaker and the documentary it’s from, please let me know so I can give them credit!)

For a funnier look at the Alpha hero, try Sally Clement’s list of Don’ts for Romance Heroes.

 

6 Responses to “What makes an Alpha hero?”

  1. Maisey Says:

    Our blogs match! 😀 Cuz it was so brilliant!! And so what I want my heroes to be too.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, I just posted this and then thought, shoot, Maisey might have done too! You beat me to it!

  3. Maisey Says:

    Glad that you did! It’s a valuable quote!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joanne Cleary, Jane Mulberry Jones. Jane Mulberry Jones said: What makes an Alpha hero?: http://wp.me/pdNa3-dG […]

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    It’s great, isn’t it! Wish I knew the source so I could attribute it properly, but so glad Aideen grabbed that remote and taped a bit so she could transcribe it.


Leave a Reply

