Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

“Sinning” in style December 1, 2009

Filed under: What I'm reading — Autumn Macarthur @ 12:54 pm
Tags:

I just read the first chapter of Sharon Kendrick’s new Presents, The Prince’s Chambermaid (the link should take you straight to a reader where you can browse the first chapter).

Sigh.

She commits several of the “sins” mentioned by the editors in their feedback to the Presents competition entrants, but does them so wonderfully well. What an amazing first chapter kiss! I want to read more. I want my writing to be so lush and sensual.

My competition chapter looks sad and pathetic in comparison, a little brown sparrow next to a bird of paradise.

 

One Response to ““Sinning” in style”

  1. Sharon,
    I read Chapter 1 too bad I have to wait so long for the book. It sounds like a winner.


Leave a Reply

