Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Wait for it, wait for it…. December 1, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 11:39 am
Tags: ,

Looks like there’s going to be a delay hearing who won the Harlequin Presents competition.  Amy from Harlequin said this yesterday on the I Heart Presents blog

the winners will be announced on the blog Dec. 11. I do not know at the moment if they have been chosen yet.

So for all of us who obsessively checked the blog yesterday for an announcement, or whose heart beat faster every time the phone rang, a little more of a wait.

I did it too, even though I know the best I can expect is a full request!

Patience is good for a writer, right? So much waiting for a response. Send a partial – wait for a full request or a rejection. Send a requested full – wait for revisions or a rejections. Send off a revised full – wait for more revisions, a rejection, or joy of joys an acceptance.

So if we want to keep playing this game, we better get used to waiting!

I’m off work with the flu today. Why is it when I actually have some time I could write, I feel too lousy to do it?

Edited to add- Amy just posted this-

Well I have word that the winners have been chosen but haven’t yet been contacted. But whoever the lucky people are, they will definitely be contacted before the 11th!

So looks like we are all hyperventilating every time the phone rings for a bit longer!

 

10 Responses to “Wait for it, wait for it….”

  1. Ann Victor Says:

    ha! thanks for the info. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has been obssessivley checking the IheartPresents site (even though I’m also expecing, at best, a request for a full!) Dec 11th? So many days to wait…

    hope your flu gets better

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    I think there are plenty of us doing that!

    We also need to remember the announcement will be only winners and runners up.

    For last year’s contests it took 8 weeks or even longer for the full requests to reach people.

    I’m going to keep on editing my entry story, no matter who is announced on December 11.

  3. […] to add- see my post of December 1 for the link to the latest update- winners will now be announced December 11! Possibly related […]

  4. Eileen Says:

    Ha! I was so busy yesterday that I knew it was December for I forgot what that meant!

    *goes over to the Presents blog*

    I’m glad to be busy … although I would like to be working on my submitted novel regardless of the outcome of the contest … yet … busy. Sigh.

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    You are trying to do a lot at the moment. The rest of the story will happen when it happens. At least some of the other “busy” was probably writing too, right?

  6. Eileen Says:

    No, no writing-busy again for a few weeks. Now I’m being teachery and grading papers (my least fave part of teachery-ness). My powers of procrastination have allowed me to grade three papers in four hours.

  7. waitingforthecall Says:

    Those are awesome powers of procrastination! When I was teaching I loved the face to face lecturing and tutoring but hated grading. I hope ts done and out the way soon!

  8. Lori Says:

    Im am glad I found you blog and learned about the delay, because this is torture! I am constantly thinking of the time difference and thinking what time is it in england. What time do they get to work. Are they 8am to 5pm or do they stay late.

    Now to add to this constant state of agitation- I have to wait another week! I wish I could wish it away but I have so much to do in getting ready for the holidays I cant afford to waste the days.

  9. Eileen Says:

    Lori — throw yourself into the holidays with an abandon and forget all about the contest … and hopefully when you resurface it’ll be b/c you got a phone call!

  10. waitingforthecall Says:

    Good advice, Eileen! It’s hard not to think about it, but unless we are in the top three it still could be weeks before we get any feedback. Even my buddy who got an enthusiastic full request from the last contest didn’t get that email till over a month after the winners were announced.


Leave a Reply

