Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Meanwhile, back at the ball… December 5, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 4:24 pm
Tags:

…Poor Emma is still stuck in Chapter 3, at the Grand Ball to present her to the people as the new Princess, wondering when Luk is going to appear.

Think I’d better stop procrastinating and go rescue her!

 

10 Responses to “Meanwhile, back at the ball…”

  1. Maisey Says:

    Send Luk her way! She needs some man candy!

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    I’m working on it! She’s talking to the very nice prince they want to set her up with as an arranged marriage right now. Luk is about to walk in the door and he shocked at the level of jealousy he feels. Not to mention, he hasn’t seen her since her makeover. If he found her surprisingly attractive before…

  3. Lori Says:

    I see some stalking of a sexy nature coming. Pacing the outer edge before he pounces! As Tim Gunn would say-make it work!

  4. Aideen Says:

    Hey Jane,

    Please tell me you’ve rescued Emma? That poor girl,
    hanging around the palace, looking totally divine and
    her heart beating a tattoo in her chest. Has Luk
    arrived yet?? I hope so, cos I’m nervous for her at this
    stage. Has his arrival been deliberately delayed, or is he
    merely stuck in the wings unable to even breathe at the
    sight of his new princess?? Come on, don’t be greedy,
    share the love.

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, today is the day!

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    Aideen, I think you’d write this better than me! I love your description there.

  7. priley65 Says:

    I’ve been reading several blogs by contest entrants and others, such as Maisey, who got the call. I’m happy for all the new HP authors and there success. I entered the Instant Seduction Contest with no response. I to entered the most recent competition. I can relate wholeheartedly to your thoughts and frustrations. I’ve been reading and writing HP’s for years with no success. Nothing! Zilch! I’ve had other writers tell me I have a Presents voice. I’m getting older and I see HP picking up all these relatively young writers and I can’t even cross the start line more or less the finish. I get frustrated. I want to give up, but writing is an integral part of my being. I might never become published by HM&B, it seems grim, but I love the line, I love the stories and I will continue to write even if it’s only for a hobby. It sounds like you at least got a spark of interest from HM&B with the compliments slip. Hang in there and follow your heart.

  8. waitingforthecall Says:

    When writing is such a part of who you are, it will happen. We just gotta keep on writing and learning and writing some more.

    Age is irrelevant. Maisey at 23 is the first of my writing buddies to get a story accepted, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if the next of my friends to get the Call is Jilly, who’s a bit more than double that. Her comp entry story simply sizzled. I felt good about mine until I read hers, then realised mine hadn’t really “got it” at all.

    It can get disheartening when we see others getting there and feel left behind. Have you send in submissions via the normal three chapters and a synopsis route, or just the contests? I do wonder if because the editors get such a huge volume of entries for the comps there’s actually more chance of getting feedback from a slush pile submission. Maisey’s accepted story was submitted via slush, yet the different stories she entered in last years’s contests got no feedback at all!

    I’ve made a promise to myself that I will sub partials at least twice next year.

    And I still think that Compliments Slip got stuck in the wrong envelope!

  9. priley65 Says:

    Yes, I’ve submitted many times via regular channels. Form letter rejections. You’re right, age is irrelevant. But as we get older with no results it’s disheartening. Don’t get me wrong I’m excited for all the success of others and I hope I don’t sound like I’m wining. Maybe I don’t have what it takes to become a Harlequin writer. I’m sure your writing is wonderful. Thanks for all your inspirational posts.

  10. waitingforthecall Says:

    It doesn’t sound as if you are whining at all. Its tough to keep going with nothing coming back. You are certainly putting in the work and eventualy that has to pay off, but the bit in the middle where it feels like all that is happening is trying and failing is flipping frustrating. I am over the moon for my friends success, but I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to being sad for myself and just a tad jealous too. I feel like I am being left behind, like maybe there is some magic something that other people have and I don’t. The eact same feeling I had as a teenager of seeing the prettier girls with boyfriends and wondering what was wrong with me. I don’t want to give advice, cos WTF would I know, but if you have a full story sitting around you want to improve, a workshop like the online one I am doing now with Susan Meiermight be useful. I don’t know, its just that if what you’ve been doing hasn’t worked yet, try something different. If you only write partials to submit and never finish the story, try writing the full first then edit the partial. It’s amazing how much it changes! Or if you are already doing that, put the story aside longer before going back to edit it. I feel there’s gotta be something you can do that will help you crack this.


Leave a Reply

