Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Time to write December 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:22 pm
Tags: , ,

Yay! I am a happier girl today. My manager has approved a proposal that we change the work hours in our department from five eight hour shifts a week to four ten hour shifts.

A third day off a week! My commute is so long and I’m so often late off, that I rarely write on work nights. Extended shifts won’t lose me any writing time. But with all of another day free, I’ve simply got no excuse not to spend it writing.

I need the extra time, as I’ve realised I probably should totally redo most of what I’ve written so far on Luk and Emma. My pacing is soooooooooooo sloooooooooooow.

I have too many scenes where not enough happens. Too many scenes that go on for too long. Poor transitions where I just write too much.

Not quite sure how to fix it yet. I just know that it’s not working as well as it could.

 

9 Responses to “Time to write”

  1. Barbara Says:

    Jane,

    First, yeah on the four day work week! Good for you for advocating for yourself.

    When you look at a scene in your book, ask yourself: What is the conflict in this scene and does it relate to the overall conflict for the story? Sometimes that helps me.

    Keep working. You will get there.

    Barbara

  2. Maisey Says:

    Four day work week!! Woohoo!!

    I’m liking the advice Robyn gave you, but it’s going to require you channel your sexy alpha male hero: Be ruthless, cut the single title elements, don’t look back. You’re aiming for billionaire caliber success and that requires a willingness to do whatever it takes and make sure no one, not even plucky, well-written secondary characters stand in your way.

  3. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks guys! Come January, if my writing productivity doesn’t jump 50% or better, I need some serious butt-kicking.

  4. Eileen Says:

    Come back to JanNo?

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    Ooh, I’d love too! I had so much fun when I did it last (was it only last year? It feels longer!) and it’s such a great group.

    But I’m supposed to be editing my comp entry still, unless they get those R emails out fast this year.
    I do have an idea I would love to start writing, my bush nurse story. It’s longer though, I think it will need around 70,000 words for either LBD or Superromance. I need to check the guidelines and see what they want now- think it may have dropped back to 60K.

    Ah, I’m just gonna write it and work out where to sub it later! Um, sounds like I’m in, doesn’t it? But if I get a full request from the comp I’ll have to stop and go back to editing Luk and Emma.

    What are you planning to write? And have you got the marking out the way?

  6. Eileen Says:

    the grading/marking is never ending … or at least it’s continuous until Dec. 22.

    Yay JanNo! My JanNo project is two-fold, one that’s tarot inspired and one that’s a dark fantasy … unless I decide to draft my contest entry … we’ll see on Dec 31!

  7. waitingforthecall Says:

    Yeah, marking for a teacher is like patients for a nurse. Just when I think I’m caught up at last, someone new comes in. *sigh*

    Hmm, like the sound of the tarot inspired one. Want to hear more.

    Tomorrow’s the day for the contest winners to go public. I don’t think we’ll get our full requests (positive thinking and creative visualisation working overtime!) for a while. Maybe not even till the end of January.

    So we can JanNo all month with a clear conscience. It’s the bush nurse story for me. It’s waited ten years, time I wrote it! Would you send me the JanNo link?

  8. Eileen Says:

    Wonderful! I think taking a month off from Luk and Emma will eventually help you with their story. Especially as this one’s waited TEN years! http://janno.ymakadomain.com/forum/index.php

    The Tarot inspired thing is a “linked universe” or something like that. It’s going to be short (very short) stories, maybe even flash fiction, that are all part of the same fantasy world but with different characters. And each is inspired by my traditional Rider-Waite-Smith deck. The plan is to draft one a day for the first few months of the year.

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks for the link. And the tarot stories sound fabulous. I hope you post some on the board so I get to read it!


Leave a Reply

