Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Following the dream December 10, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:36 pm
Tags: ,

This is one for us middle aged dudettes (anyone under 40-something, stop reading now!) still chasing the dream. Or wondering where the hell their life went while they were busy getting on with all those other things that seemed important at the time.

I just read a review of this book- Living Your Unlived Life: Coping with Unrealized Dreams and Fulfilling Your Purpose in TheSecond Half of Life

It’s gone in my shopping basket on the title alone!

One of the Amazon reviews quotes this poem by the Spanish poet Machado-

‘Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt -marvelous error!-
that I had a beehive
here inside my heart.
And the golden bees
were making white combs
and sweet honey
from my old failures.’

 

2 Responses to “Following the dream”

  1. Jackie Says:

    Hey, does 39 count? I LOVE that poem…

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    39 may be too young for the book!

    But not for the poem. I want to engrave those words on my heart. Making honey of past failures…


Leave a Reply

