Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Presents contest winning chapters! December 22, 2009

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 7:04 pm
Tags:

Hurrah!

The winning chapters from the 2009 Harlequin Presents contest have been posted on I Hearts Presents today.

I’m thrilled to see my writing buddy  Jilly’s chapter posted there. I loved it the first time I read it and even more today! It’s so good to see she’s getting the recognition she deserves for her fabulous writing. I can’t wait to read more (we already had a sneak peek at chapter two- it’s even better than chapter one!) I hope everyone enjoys the start of Ross and Fliss’s story as much as I did!  She is the queen of sparky dialogue and I adore her characters. I think she has the Modern Heat voice nailed! This is Jilly’s moment to shine. I’ve had this idiot grin on my face on and off since Maisey had her Call and the contest winners were announced. It was back yesterday with Maisey’s Call story being on I Hearts, it’s back again now for Jilly. It’s a great feeling to see friends doing well!

I was interested to read the other winning chapter, Susanna’s chapter for Presents, especially as this was the line I was targeting. What an Alpha hero she’s created there. And a very Presents premise- I can see why it caught the editors’ attention!

My entry seems dull and pedestrian in comparison.

 

9 Responses to “Presents contest winning chapters!”

  1. Maisey Yates Says:

    I’ll have to disagree with you on any negative stuff aimed at your chapter, Jane. But Susannah’s chapter certainly had an intriguing, Presents-y premise!

    And Jilly’s pacing, her dialogue, and her oh-so-Jilly-esque way with words is on great display here. I just crack up when I read her stuff, and she has that amazing way of injecting both humor and emotion. Can’t say enough good things about it. MH nailed.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Well and truly! Jilly is a star!

  3. Both chapters are great, but I’m sure you’re being too hard on yourself – sometimes we can be our own worst critics. I very much doubt your chapter was dull – your blog posts are always very entertaining.

    Absolutely loved Jilly’s chapter (am so jealous you’ve seen chapter two) and I’m afraid I welled up when I read Maisey’s terrific call story.

    XX

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    Jilly’s next chapter is so funny I cried! And Maisey’s Call story is marvelous isn’t it!
    Our time will come too!
    You know, my chapter was pedestrian in comparison. It was “well written” from an English teacher’s point of view, but it didn’t have the drama and the passion Susanna’s did, which I think is what the editors saw and wanted.

  5. Gibb Says:

    Hello there

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve been reading your blog for a while and really enjoy your insight. I wish you all the best in your quest for publication. I went over and studied the various rejection letters and am happy to say I have two encouraging rejections and one flat out rejection(2009 competition). Keep up the good work. I don’t know how you manage to do it. I can barely keep up with the kids, hubby, work and trying to meet daily writing goals.

    Merry Christmas.
    Gibb

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    You must write well to get those encouraging feedbacks! One of the published writers (I think Michelle Styles) commented on the M&B forum that she felt writers were more likely to get a form rejecetion on a contest entry than if they subbed normally- just because of the pressure on the editors to deal with a huge number of entries quickly.
    Happy writing and good luck for 2010!

  7. Robyn Says:

    Jane, I’m definitely not an English teacher and IMO your chapter had all the right ingredients. Don’t forget that (aside from Aideen) we all got form R’s from the Feel the Heat comp. And Jilly WON the very next comp! Sub the regular way and I’m sure they’ll single you out.

    Robyn

  8. Lori Says:

    I loved Jilly’s, she had a spark that kept me interested, I wanted to read on and would have bought the book based on the first chapter.

    I have to confess I got bored with the Presents, it was to melodramatic for my taste, reminded me of a daytime soap opera super couple rehash. It was a storyline I read before.

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Jilly’s writing is fabulous, isn’t it! I’m willing her to write faster so we get to read more of this story.


Leave a Reply

