Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

New Year, new story. January 1, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:57 pm
Tags: , ,

January 1. Time to start my JanNo story at last!

I’m going to be pushing myself- rather than the usual 50,000 for NaNo or JanNo, I’m going to aim for 60,000.

I love Nick and Meg, my new characters. And it’s a huge relief to write a gamma rather than an alpha male. Alpha simply does not come naturally to me!

Trying to start writing today proved the importance of writing everyday- after just three days back at work, when I hadn’t looked at them, I’d lost touch with who my characters were and needed to spend a bit of time getting to know them again. But just thinking about the characters to make a couple of tweaks on the little bio sheets I’d done on them and on the collage got me back into the story again.

I did finally start writing and now have over 3,000 words.  All the ultimate in first draft crappiness, but at least things are moving. I want to see 5,000 words before I go to sleep tonight.

The rules- No going back. No correcting or spellchecking. No erasing. Just write!

Write or Die has helped with the “Just write” bit. I’ve already cheated a bit on all the other rules.

 

14 Responses to “New Year, new story.”

  1. Eileen Says:

    haha! I love the little bundled baby with a question mark over him/her! For some reason I find that beyond amusing 🙂

    I, too, am aiming fro 60,000 words this JanNo. But I’m giving myself permission to go back and edit, but only edit what I wrote the day before. Anything larger than that will have to wait. I also drew up a contract with myself that this novel will be drafted in its entirety by Feb. 14 (happen valentine’s day to me!)

  2. Caroline Storer Says:

    Go for it! Good luck. I’m back on the wagon (writing wise of course) after falling off for most part of December! Take care. Caroline x

  3. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, Caroline, after all that champagne I had New Year’s Eve, think I should be on the other wagon too! Happy writing!

    Eileen, that baby! I put him in when I was thinking maybe she would get pregnant in the story, as part of my throw in everything approach to plotting. Now I don’t think that will necessarily happen. But her concerns that she would be a bad mother and doesn’t want kids when he definitely does is part of their conflict, so I didn’t take him out, but he’s a question mark. Cute little bug, isn’t he?

    I think 60,000 is doable for me. Last time I did JanNo I hit 50,000 on January 27 I think. The complicating factor this year is I have to go to Thailand for a conference at the end of the month, so that crucial final week I will be either busy or jetlagged! I just realised- I need to push to get it done before I leave on January 25th. Hmm, better up my weekly word count goals! What are you aiming for in total by Valentine’s Day?

  4. Great start Jane! I’m spending January doing revisions. The first time I’ve done them for an editor so I’m in uncharted waters and glancing around me for sharks… I always tell myself that doing something new grows me as a writer, and am having to shout it through a bullhorn at myself as I quake!

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    You can do it! Revisions- how exciting!

  6. Amy Strnad Says:

    Write or Die! If you don’t mind, I’m going to borrow that phrase from my wall. Good luck, Jane!

    Amy

  7. waitingforthecall Says:

    Go for it Amy! Write or Die is not my phrase- it’s some great productivity software for writers.
    How’s your WiP going?
    Mine’s off to a good start but slower today than yesterday. I think all that New Year’s Eve champagne has taken longer to really catch up with me than I expected. I’ve been sitting around clutching my head and whimpering from time to time for much of the day. Must go find some painkillers…
    Finally managed to get to 5,000 words in total, my target for yesterday! Though I just realised I have my characters coming very close to kissing on the staircase in the heroine’s house- only problem is I’ve already made a big point of saying it’s a single storey house! Oops!

  8. Amy Strnad Says:

    LOL! Found the website. You just provided me with my first rolling on floor laughing moment of 2010. My favorite consequence at Write or Die? Kamikaze Mode: Keep Writing or Your Work Will Unwrite Itself. Ha! Now there’s a motivator!

    Unfortunately, my (mostly) completed WIP is now undergoing a heart transplant courtesy the brief feedback my comp entry received. In preparation for the operation I am now stuck reworking my synopsis . . .

    Plan on finishing by tomorrow and start rewriting this story on Monday. Hmmm. I may join you in the ‘busting butt’ mode and try to get the 2nd/new/alternate 1st draft done by February.

    Amy

    P.S. Single story house transition to two story? – easy fix (in a story anyway)! Good luck with the writing!

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Of all the possible mistakes, that’s sure an easy fix, yeah! I was just surprised when I realised it! Good luck with the revsions!

  10. Eileen Says:

    My Valentine’s Day goal is a minimum of 70,000 words. Ideally in the 70-88,000 range. Basically, I want the plot done!

  11. Maisey Yates Says:

    Best of luck to all the JaNoers!! Jane, can I borrow your hero for the weekend? I just want to stick him in an apron (yeah, only an apron) and have him do some housework.

  12. waitingforthecall Says:

    Sorry, Maisey, he doesn’t do housework, he has maid service for that. He loves kids though so he’ll gladly keep the boys amused for a hour or so!

  13. Maisey Yates Says:

    Can he just pretend to bend over and pick toys up? 😀

  14. waitingforthecall Says:

    No, he’s got a girl to convince to marry him back in Australia, and he can’t leave just now.
    But he’s arranged for Sven, your new home help, to be there within the hour. Sven doesn’t speak much English, but he looks great in an apron and is a whiz with a Hoover.


Leave a Reply

