Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

TGI Friday! January 15, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:20 pm
Tags:

What a week!

I am soooooooo glad it’s the weekend at last. Not much good getting my mojo back if work is so hellishly busy I come home wrung out and too exhausted to do anything but collapse! I’ve had a lousy fluey bug with sinusitis and bronchitis for ages, but it could be worse, my collegue who got sick the same time developed pneumonia! Luckily she’s getting better now, though still not back at work.

I am way behind on my writing targets. I need to dive right into the story this weekend. Thanks to Martin Luther King and having an American employer, I have the day off work Monday. It’s not remotely feasible that I catch up to my goal by Monday night, but I want to be a hell of a lot closer than I am now!

I hoped to enter it in the Superromance pitch contest on eHarlequin, but I don’t see how it will be even first drafted in time, let alone ready to sub by the end of February. Oh well, learning plenty about the fine art of pitching from Winnie Griggs’s massively useful tutorial!

Bound to come in handy some day…

 

8 Responses to “TGI Friday!”

  1. Amy Strnad Says:

    Enjoy your three day weekend, Jane! Hope you get rest, get better, and get caught up on your writing. Hmmm . . . you might have to make a choice between getting rest and writing though.

    Amy

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    I’m planning to stay in my jammies all day and write sitting up in bed with my laptop!

  3. Maisey Yates Says:

    Enjoy that extra day, Janey!!

    Hey, I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award…whatever that means…

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    Ack, Maisey, now I can’t give the one I got last week from Kailyto you! I’ve been meaning to write the post for it since Monday but Real Life kinda got in the way this week!

  5. Jane Holland Says:

    Good luck with the writing this weekend. I had hoped to get loads of work done too, but my laptop has started making a grinding noise – the dreaded Sony Fan Syndrome, I believe! Luckily it’s still under warranty, but what dreadful timing. If it goes into repair now, I may not have it again for weeks and weeks … and I’m partway through a novel!

    I suppose I have been hitting it rather hard lately though. (Lol, not literally!)

    Let us know how the word count goes … still time to make that Super pitch if you pull a few late-nighters, surely?

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    I still want to go for it! Loved your logline from the hero’s POV, by the way. Would buy that book in a flash!
    I hope the grinding fan doesn’t slow you down. Laptops have a terrible sense of timing.

  7. Eileen Says:

    yay for three day weekends! I, too, hope to be caught up by then BUT I have homework due Tuesday that I’ve not touched. So we’ll see.

    I am, however, panicking about my self-imposed Valentine’s Day deadline for this novel. It’s the 16th and I’ve only written 12k this month for a total of 18k (most of which is not in scene but notes to myself). I’ve been working, just not moving forward and it’s scaring me.

  8. waitingforthecall Says:

    Looks like those crows of doubt have paid you a visit too. I like crows, but not when they’re circling my head! What we need is a big enough stick to scare the bastards off. I got no writing today either. Did read loads of interesting stuff on the psychology of romantic love, triggered by my doubts about my basic premise. Thank God,what I readbacked up what I thought- men are far more likely to fall in love at first sight, women tend to need longer to weigh him up before making a decision. So that’s the internal conflict taken care of. Done and dusted. Apart from that litle matter of another 45,000 words to actually write the story not just think it.


Leave a Reply

