Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Nothing too serious… February 11, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 12:03 am
Tags: , ,

I have had a strange week. Ended up in hospital with chest pain and other weird symptoms being investigated for a heart attack on Thursday and Friday (it wasn’t).

Probably just a mixture of lingering chest infection and sinusitis, the Day Job from Hell, and jet lag. It’s definitely been a wake-up call to take better care of myself (that’s a bit of a laugh- as I’ve gone to work all this week despite being signed off sick by my GP) and get healthier. Talk about brand loyalty- I bought a Harlequin diet and health book- Menopause Makeover. It’s helped kick start me, and there’s some good stuff here and on the author’s website, though her ra ra style can get a little wearing, along with her constant references to herself as being fat and flabby and disgusting, when I’m willing to bet at her fattest she wasn’t more than 140 pounds. That’s less than my goal weight!

I spent my writing time this week tweaking Chapter One of Meg and Nick’s story to reflect the plot changes writing the pitch for Donna Alward’s contest showed me, but it’s not quite working. I need to make bigger changes, not just tweaks. I love these characters, and they and their situation will stay the same, but I need to rewrite, not edit, if I’m to write the best story I can. That’s tough – throwing away writing that is good, but just not good enough. Sometimes it’s just got to be done. I’m going to come out with a stronger start that dives straight into the action and has the hero and heroine behaving totally consistently with their characters and motivations.

Anyway, what I really wanted to post was something that cracked me up, emailed by my friend Abbi.  Warning, do not have food or drink in your mouth while reading, unless you want a messy spray incident!

First this blog post from the fabulous Lucy March, AKA Lani Diane Rich. Which took me to the Glittery Hoo Ha, thanks to Jennifer Crusie. Oh my, I would love to be a fraction as funny as those two!

 

9 Responses to “Nothing too serious…”

  1. Oh, Jane, I hadn’t read the part about the GHH until now. My kids are looking at me like I’m nuts.

    First, glad you’re okay. And, I’m thinking about getting the menopause makeover, so let me know how it goes.

    Second, did I ever tell you how many words I lose when I write. Almost a n1:1. For every word I write, I usually lose the same amount in a rewrite/edit. Part of the process.

    And, sometimes I think you are too hard on yourself. You are a great writer.

    Abbi

  2. Jackie Says:

    Love the GHH! Too funny. Hope you’re getting better, Jane. Look after yourself eh?

  3. Caroline Says:

    Bad girl Jane – going into work when you are signed off ill! Hope you get better soon though – and don’t work too hard! What’s that old saying? Oh yes…WORK TO LIVE, NOT LIVE TO WORK. I know it’s hard sometimes – but your health MUST come first. Now rant over from Aunty Caroline – I love the GHH!

  4. Thanks for the links – brilliant. And I hadn’t heard of the Menopause Makeover – am going to order that NOW. My goal weight would also be 140lbs, but suspect it’s just a hopeless dream in my case.

    I’m glad you’re okay. Take care.

  5. Blimey Jane, sounds like a bit of a scary week for you, take care.

    Thanks for the GHH link is so funny, made me laugh out loud.:o)

  6. Eileen Says:

    Please do take care of yourself!

  7. Eileen Says:

    oh and those two links were insanely amusing

  8. Donna Says:

    Jane just bear in mind I have 50 lbs to lose. 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Sorry for the delay replying to everyone! Luckily, I survived the week, despite it being hellishly busy at work (didn’t leave the office until 8.30pm yesterday). I woke up on Thursday feeling loads better and I’m back to normal now, I think. Just need to chase up those blood test results… I know I’m anaemic, want to know if I am hypothyroid too.

    I can really recommend the Menopause Makeover- I think eating healthier has helped a lot. The night in hospital gave me the wake-up call I needed to stop being complacent about being so overweight and do something about it.

    Suzanne, I’m not going to shoot for 140 pounds either. To do that I would have to lose around as much weight as you want to, Donna! There, ‘fessed up how much I weigh- and I’m short too, not lovely and tall like I think you might be. Though I’m not really sure how much I weigh – they weighed me in hospital and that said one thing, my scales at home said 10 pounds less! I think unfortunately the hospital scales are most likely to be accurate, but I can use my scales to check up on my weight loss.

    Though a tape measure might be a better way of keeping track. I want to drop two or three dress sizes, so I can fit back into all those pretty clothes that are up in the loft in suitcases. Probably deeply unfashionable by now, but luckily I’m not a fashion monkey. I’m still going to weigh myself once a week, but it’s fitting into jeans two or even three sizes smaller that’s my real goal. And losing some of my tummy fat. And being able to look at myself in a swimsuit without cringing. I thnk you get the idea.

    I weigh in tomorrow and I’m hoping I will have lost an encouraging amount of weight, even without being able to do any exercise. My husband will be out visiting his mother tonight, I can’t go because I’m on call for work. The house to myself for once! I can’t decide whether to write or do that exercise DVD I bought in the week. Hopefully both…

    I hope everyone is well and having fun writing!


Leave a Reply

