Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Let the fun begin! March 31, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:21 pm
Tags: ,

I’m finished with the day job for ten wonderful days.

Now I’m preparing to dive into a write-a-thon. I plan to do as little apart from writing as I can get away with in my time off. Just lots and lots of writing. I want to have a rough and dirty first draft of my story done before I go back to work.

It will be good to see the word count climb. I’ve been crawling along at a couple of hundred words a day, and the word count indicator is moving painfully slowly. In some ways though, it’s been good to take my time writing my way in. I feel like I am getting to know the characters well, and they are already surprising me! The hero has changed his name, appearance, and occupation. The heroine is going to surprise me too.

I’m not sure it will work. I’m not sure I know what their conflict is deeply enough yet. But I’m hoping I’ll find out, as I write fast without overthinking things.

Here goes!

 

One Response to “Let the fun begin!”

  1. Leah Says:

    Oh, how excited, having all that time to write! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

