Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Day Four Progress April 4, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:19 pm
Tags: ,

Can’t quite say I was in the flow today, but the words came easier than yesterday.

Word count was 5,700ish, and I’ve had to make myself stop where I am because I think the next scene will be one of the ones I wanted to write yesterday, and I’m getting too tired now to do it justice.

Also, I’m not sure whose POV the scene will be most powerful in. Hopefully I’ll know by the time I come to write again tomorrow!

 

4 Responses to “Day Four Progress”

  1. Eileen Says:

    You’ve just done four days in a row of 5k+ writing! You are my hero. No joke.

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, Eileen, it’s total crap that’s going to need a month+ of editing before I can sub it! I’m pleased with the progress, but it’s not as impressive as it sounds!

    Are you an edit as you go writer? A couple of people in my crit group are and they do well to turn of 800 words a day- but those words are close to perfect.

    Now I have to stick with it for another five or six days and get the story finished. That will be the real test- to see if I can maintain it through to “The End”.

  3. Eileen Says:

    Not really an edit as you go type. I need some distance between knowing what I /want/ to say and being able to edit what I /actually/ said. I’ve just not been producing word count of any great volume since November. And even then I was so proud of my 2 5k days and you already have four!!!!!

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    I’m struggling to make that today. It’s quality not quantity, anyway. Today I’m not sure I have enough of either!


Leave a Reply

