Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Day Five Progress April 5, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:19 pm
Tags: ,

Slow writing today but I got there! Just under 5,000 today- I set my goal as 30,000 words and I made it! I lost some time this morning because I started off in the wrong POV and needed to rewrite what I’d done. I’m trying to write complete scenes in one POV as my changes do tend to be a bit messy. There’s only one place so far, around 10,000 words or so in, where it seemed essential to change POV midway through the scene and I have a very clunky switch. Will have to work on that one in edits.

Half way point- a Superromance needs to be 60,000 words long.

The problem is things are still rushing along too fast. My characters seem to be on the verge of going to bed with each other. I’m sitting back screaming “Too soon!” , but they aren’t listening. So the sex either has to be a disaster, which will create it’s own problems; or really really good but somehow that has to create another layer of problems. I just don’t know what it will be yet.

Tomorrow’s writing will be interesting!

 

10 Responses to “Day Five Progress”

  1. Eileen Says:

    Or, like any good romance where things are moving too fast, something happens between the decision to go to bed and the actual bed. Such as a sick family member appearing, a burglar or a bleeding dog. 🙂 something to break the mood, distract them for a while and make them even more sexually aware of the other. 🙂 I love sexually frustrated characters. In fact I was a little annoyed with the last book I read (it’s part of a series) because the characters were newly weds and getting it on constantly. They were so much more fun when they were frustrated and unsure! But thankfully the author dropped a bomb at the end of book 2 and now they’re back to being frustrated so book 3 should be lots of fun 🙂

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    You are absolutely right. It’s just too soon for them to manage it!

    If they do, it’s got to be a one off that messes things up so badly emotionally between then that they don’t get to do it again till the end of the book. Or they just don’t get the opportunity with everything else going on and having done it makes the frustration even more intolerable. They still have all their big emotional issues unresolved and have just reached a tentative truce, so there’s a lot more to work out yet!

    Plenty of scope for interruption as she has a sick mother in hospital and a seven year old son who’s at a sleep over – hence the chance for the hero and heroine to have some time together.

  3. Eileen Says:

    oo! one of them could do something really awkward the morning after which the other misinterprets 🙂

    I apologize if all my generalized-idea-throwing-out is distracting. Maybe I just need to read a romance and stop bugging you about the one you’re trying to make.

  4. Leah Says:

    Wow, I’m in awe of your prolific-ness (I’m sure that is not a word!). Well done!!

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    No, keep doing it , Eileen! I like it and sometimes a random comment another writer makes can trigger off a whole new direction for a story.
    LOL, you don’t need to read a romance, you need to write one!

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL Leah, it’s one I use a lot (usually when I’m in awe of my crit groups word count!)

  7. Jane Holland Says:

    Wow, Jane, it’s just amazing to see how fast that ‘write-o-meter’ in the sidebar is shooting up. Keep up the hard work!!

  8. Jane Holland Says:

    Prolificity, Leah. 😉

  9. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks Jane, I’m amazed too!


Leave a Reply

