Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Day Eight Progress April 8, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:18 pm
Tags: ,

I’m tired. I want to push on to try and get as many words as I can, but after close to 6,000 words I’m done for the day.

I’m feeling the pressure of my writing time coming to an end soon. I think it blocked me a bit yesterday, slowed me down. I’m on call for the day job starting from 5pm tomorrow then all through the weekend, then back to work on Monday. Next week will be exceptionally busy, as not only will I have the backlog from the week off to deal with, the office is ridiculously short staffed again. So no writing time. I have to get the first draft written before I go back to work, or who knows when it will get done.

The good news is, I should be able to do it. 3 days left (hopefully my on call won’t be too busy!), ten or fifteen thousand left to write. I don’t mind coming up a bit short, as I know there’s so much more I need to layer in when I edit.

I’ve left my hero and heroine enjoying a brief honeymoon period. They made love for the first time since they separated eight years ago today, and it was wonderful for them both. It looks like everything is rosy. Tomorrow it all goes wrong of course, as they build up to the Black Moment.

I’ve set my alarm to get up early so I get as much writing time  as I can before my on call starts.

 

One Response to “Day Eight Progress”

  1. You’ve done 6k today!?! WOWSWER I’m impressed!


Leave a Reply

