Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Day Nine Progress April 9, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:31 pm
Tags: ,

A panicked day today. My write-a-thon is winding up, and the Black Moment is approaching. I wrote very close to 5,000 (might do a bit more before bed and go past that), but haven’t quite hit the BM yet.

Two problems- I know writing this black moment is going to be enormously upsetting for me so I think I’m using delaying tactics; plus I started worrying that I was still winging it and had only the vaguest idea what was going to happen.

It didn’t take much thinking to come up with a very rough plan for what might happen between where the characters were and the end of the story. I’m worried what I’ve come up with may seem a little corny and contrived, yet it does seem to flow naturally out of what has come before, and hook into the hero and heroine’s deepest relationship blocks. You know that saying of Chekhov’s (I’m misquoting here for sure), that’s something like “If you hang a gun on the wall in Act 1, it had better go off by Act 3.” Let’s just say all the “guns” in my story go off.

The only question I still have left is that my first thought was to have the heroine resolve her issues with her mother between the Black Moment and the reconciliation with the hero. It works doing it like that, because finally dealing with her key issue with her mother actually feeds into the bigger reconciliation. Then I second thought it for different reasons and had the thing with her mother come before the BM. I just don’t think that’s the best way though.

Maybe with first drafts one shouldn’t “second think”. Maybe I should go with my first thoughts and leave the second thoughts for the edits.

 

2 Responses to “Day Nine Progress”

  1. Jane Holland Says:

    You’ve done marvellously well, Jane. I’m truly impressed with your stick-at-it-itis. Well done, you deserve a real treat after all this hard work. Just look at that word-o-meter over there. Fantastic!

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks Jane! Not finished yet though- rather than going under the 60,000 I think I’ll end up a little over. Then the edits…OMG the edits!


Leave a Reply

