Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Now the rewrite… April 12, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 7:10 pm
Tags: , ,

Hey, I wanted to say thanks to everyone who has been following this mini-adventure. Especially the commenters/ congratulators on the last posting. Hope your writing process goes beautifully for all of you!

I appreciated it a lot and it did help keep me accountable knowing I’d be posting my daily word counts.

I decided just to let the first draft sit for the rest of the week, to not look at it at all. Then read it through, just to take notes the first time, not changing anything. Then slash, burn, and hopefully improve.

I found this excellent article on rewriting today- loads of usable advice there!

 

10 Responses to “Now the rewrite…”

  1. Janet Says:

    Thank you so much for that link to Alexandra Sokoloff. There’s so much information on that blog–it’ll take me hours to read it all but it’s brilliant stuff. ( Far more information than you’d get in an on-line writing course — and all free!)

  2. Great going, Jane. Leaving to sit is a great idea. I’m doing that with the Frenchman. Of course, having left it to sit, I now know I have tonnes of rewriting to do!

  3. Leah Says:

    Coming in a bit late – but huge congrats on your successful writing adventure! Have enjoyed following your journey.

    Good luck with the re-writes!

  4. Congratulations on all those wonderful words. And thanks for that great rewriting article – lots of fabulous tips.

  5. Eileen Says:

    You’ve inspired me. I think I’ll attempt a 14 day novel starting either at the end of term or May 1. There’s much that could change for me between now and then which will determine which day (and which novel) I’ll be working on, but I’m going for it! And going big thanks to you!

    (I’ll drop back by and let you know when I start and if I’m bloging it) 🙂

    thanks!

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    Go for it Eileen! You can do it and I’m looking forward to following your progress. I do recommend blogging your progress- it helped keep me on track as I did not want to have to blog that I’d fallen way under targetfor no good reason!

  7. Eileen Says:

    there’s nothing like public humiliation, right? 😀

  8. waitingforthecall Says:

    LOL, I saw it more like public motivation! Nothing like your own personal cheer squad to keep you writing. I did have the advantage of literally not having anything else to do those days but write. So I wrote for a couple of hours then went for a walk, wrote for a couple more hours, had lunch, wrote for a couple more hours, went to buy groceries for dinner…Except I didn’t set time targets (too easy for me to just sit and think about the story instead of writing!), I set word count targets. When I get to 2000 words I can go for a walk. When I get to 3000 I can have a snack…

  9. Eileen Says:

    I think to have 5k days that many days running I’ll have to disconnect my computer from the Internet for hours at a time :). Then again. I wonder how long I’ll last before I plug the cord back in. Lol. Maybe I’ll even buy an egg timer. My fancy iPod has a timer in it but the screen gies dark so I have /reason/ to fiddle with it an that’s the /last/ thing I need. And if I can work walking into the process like you did, maybe I’ll even lose some weight! I know I did the first year I did janno.

  10. waitingforthecall Says:

    I had to be very disciplined about staying off the internet! I gave myself ten minutes every thousand words or so as a reward, but most days I did a quick check in and then stayed away until I was done with writing for the day. I used Write or Die a lot. He’s done a downloadable one so you don’t have to be online to use it. Worked fine for me. I love that it pushes me to free write with no time to think about it. I did read back my story last night. It’s not bad but it’s not good either. The main issue is that noone has goals. Things happen and they react. Ack!


Leave a Reply

