Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Ready to get going! April 23, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 8:04 pm
Tags: , ,

No writing happening yet, but quite a bit of thinking about the story and what I need to do.

Gearing up for some serious writing tomorrow. My brain was  bit too fuzzy today as I’ve had a killer tummy bug (occupational hazard of working as a nurse- no matter how careful I am about handwashing, I catch some sort of virus from a patient at least three times a year).

I’m doing a great online workshop with Shirley Jump (Take Your Story from Good to Great) that’s kick starting me with ideas to power the rewrite, especially revving up the conflict and emotional tension, and tying all the plot threads together. All the things I most noticed on my readthrough- a lack of clear goals and motivations for the hero and heroine, missed opportunities to ramp up the conflict and tension and dig deeper into the emotion; and an inciting event and significant plot thread (Cady’s mum’s illness) that’s completely disconnected from the main romance thread.

Shirley has given me some great ideas for ways to work on these. Now I just have to do the rewrite!

 

Leave a Reply

