Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

My first post… May 15, 2010

Filed under: What I'm reading,Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 6:59 pm
Tags: , ,

…on Seven Sassy Sisters is tomorrow. More than anyone ever wanted to know about me!

Not much editing on the story today. I’m reading a lovely Liz Fielding romance from a few years back, “The Five Year Baby Secret”, Donald Maass’s “Writing the Breakthrough Novel,” and this blog post from Les Edgerton which really hits home with some strong examples of showing not telling. A combination of the three have me rethinking the opening of Cady and Lock’s story to make it even better than the planned rewritten version. Yippee!

 

4 Responses to “My first post…”

  1. Yes, I’ve been living on Les Edgerton’s site since Cindy posted it, really insightful stuff, isn’t it? Looking forward to your Sassy Sisters post! Great site, by the way, me and the other Minxes are loving it! I’m rather sad Cindy’s course is finishing, was getting loads out of it!

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Yes, I’ve been reading his blog on and off all afternoon. Just in the post on Scene and Sequel. You and the other Minxes have made a wonderful blog. I visited but didn’t post. Which reminds me, must add it to my blogroll!

  3. Les Edgerton Says:

    HI!
    I just wanted to thank you for the shout-out you gave my blog and for the nice things your own followers said. Appreciate it, folks! You’ve made my day!

    Blue skies,
    Les Edgerton

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hey Les, Thanks for dropping by. And thanks for your blog- discovering it yesterday made MY day! Love your style and way of teaching- you raise “show don’t tell” to an art form and it’s a powerful teaching tool.


Leave a Reply

