Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Pitching May 21, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:32 pm
Tags:

I’m tagging along a day late as always, so it’s too late to pitch now, but this online pitch with Deb Werksman, acquiring editor with Sourcebooks, is fascinating reading and a masterclass in pitching single title!

 

4 Responses to “Pitching”

  1. Actually, Jane, she said you could send her pitches to her e-mail address. She also talked about doing this pitch thing once a month.

    Abbi 🙂

  2. waitingforthecall Says:

    Yes, I had another look and I see that now! You going to go for it? You have some great ST stuff in the works.

  3. Eileen Says:

    I posted a link to the seven sassy sisters blog today in my blog 🙂 I guessed on the number of book contracts between the seven of you … at least I thought that many of the members had contracted multiple books even if they’re not yet finished.

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    You may have overestimated! Maisey has two books accepted and for release in Harlequin Presents this year, a third with her editor now, and a multi-book contract for more! So far she’s the only one with a contract, though I’m sure more are not far away.   Jilly is working with the editor she “won” in this year’s Harlequin comp. Her story is brilliant and I can’t see it won’t be accepted. Jackie is working with the editor she picked up as runner-up from the previous Harlequin comp and her latest story has the win factor. Aideen just subbed her fab full requested after Feel the Heat. Robyn/Chelsea will soon have both revisions on a Sweet Romance and a partial for a Blaze out there (both are excellent!). Abbi is about to sub an interesting story to Medical.   I’m plodding away on editing my WiP but I think it will be at least a month even with the editathon before I am ready to sub it. And I’m unsure whether to sub to the RNA New Writer’s Scheme first to get the benefit of the critique so I can maybe revise again before subbing, or just say “What the heck” and sub to Supers at the same time.


Leave a Reply

