Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Losing my virginity August 7, 2010

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 5:30 pm

My subbing virginity, that is.

The partial of Lock and Cady’s story is finished, three chapters and synopsis, with covering letter. I just need to print it out and get it on its way to Harlequin’s Canadian editorial office.

I’ve submitted short stories and articles to publishers before. I’ve entered contests. This will be the first time I’ve actually sent off a proper submission for a full length story.

I feel sick. I feel excited too. Who knows, maybe they’ll like it and want the full?

Now I just have to forget about it, and start on my next story, the Medical to submit for the August Medical Fast Track. Then on to the next story in the Haven Bay series!

 

17 Responses to “Losing my virginity”

  1. Les Edgerton Says:

    Wishing you the very best of luck!

  2. Susan Wilson Says:

    Best of luck on your submission Jane. Now get it posted!
    Good luck with medical, its too good an opportunity to miss, so just go for it!
    Susan

  3. Maisey Yates Says:

    awww…Jane…your first time. 🙂 I’m so proud of you! And I love Lock and Cady. And just think…you’re going to have two submissions in two different offices in the same month. You’re a fast one, aren’t you?

  4. Go, Jane, go!! Just a little prick and then it’s over. 😉 And in your case, there will be no prick involved, just a stamp.

  5. Oh congrats, Jane! Here’s hoping they love and it and tell you so quickly!

  6. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks for the comments, guys!

    Susan, fingers crossed they love your revisions! The Medical starts tomorrow, I already have a good idea of the plot, the synopsis is practically done, but I have no idea yet of the right place to start the story.

    LOL, Maisey, yeah sure, it’s taken me 30 years of wanting to write for Harlequin Mills and Boon to get here though! Now you are a real fast worker! One book just published, and how many others accepted?

    Funny, Jackie, that’s what my first lover told me when I finally took the plunge aged 24. Sadly, he was right! Made me wish I’d waited longer.

    Thanks Sally! Must go check out your book- it looks delicious! Hope sales are doing well.

  7. Jane, we Canadians are lovely, gentle people. So I’m sure they’ll handle your work with TLC! Congratulations and best of luck.

  8. Stella Maclean who just published her third book with Super is a chapter mate and she wrote for years and years before selling. “Now” is always the right time.

  9. I’m so excited!!!!!! Get that in the post!

  10. Leah Says:

    How exciting! Good luck! 🙂

  11. Jessica Says:

    Best of luck to you!!!

  12. Maisey Says:

    Ack! Sounds like you need me to send over one of my heroes… 😀

  13. Nancy Holroyd Says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you! Good luck.

  14. Lacey Devlin Says:

    Big congrats! I’ve got my fingers crossed 🙂

  15. Tossing confettiiiii – Good for you and hurry and start another project. Break a leg.

  16. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hey Catherine, thanks for visiting! As you can see, my poor blog has been a bit neglected lately.

    Well, since then I subbed a truly terrible first chapter to the Medical Fast Track, and a not quite so terrible but not really good either first chapter to New Voices. Both were pretty much first draft dreck, written in a rush to meet the deadline. Not a good idea.

    Now I’m writing another Super, and again I have that “coming home” feeling. Good luck yourself both with that Nocture full and with SYTYCW.


Leave a Reply

