Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

Keeping focused December 20, 2010

Or- I discover “Save the Cat”.

I posted today over at Seven Sassy Sisters, our group blog, about my latest discovery that I hope will keep me on track with my writing instead of pantsing in  a fog.

Please pop over and tell me what you think- am I overcomplicating things again, or could I be on to something?

 

3 Responses to “Keeping focused”

  1. Lacey Devlin Says:

    Oh you poor thing re the WordPress monster eating your post!!!

  2. Minka's Tail Says:

    Those are good rules. Here is a plot I made up for Harlequin. I’m not sure which

    1. Description of where the heroine is at the time. A bar or party is good, unless she has come back to town.
    2. Explanation as to why hero/ heroine are at bar or party or coming back to town. Some sort of revenge, finding out about a long lost/dead parent, or if it’s Blaze, to have a hookup are good reasons.
    3. The lovers meet, and instant attraction. If it’s a Blaze, they may have sex right then but not there (because they’re in public, duh! Though they do have closets at some bars/parties.)
    4. Description of how many juvenile delinquents/wounded souls the hero is taking care of. Seriously, this comes up in almost every book. Once in a while the heroine has one. May be replaced by baby/child.
    5. Description of the hero’s top secret job. This may or may not have any bearing on the plot–there were 2 where he had a top secret job for the sake of having it.
    6. Description of heroine’s problems–often caused by bum ex-boyfriend.
    7. Description of hero’s problems–caused by abusive parents. Most heroes have horrible backgrounds.
    8. A delicious dinner cooked by one of them. make sure each course is described in detail, and better yet if they eat it out of each other’s hands.
    9. Hot love.
    10. Subplot about one or both of their careers.
    11. Meeting long lost parent/taking revenge/ whatever (This varies a bit.)
    12. Self-doubt about being worthy of being loved due to lousy ex/parents.
    13. Of course they’re worthy of being loved! The end!

    I think I’ll start writing one with this plot right now!

  3. waitingforthecall Says:

    Sounds great- have fun writing it!


Leave a Reply

