Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

More on goal setting January 11, 2011

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 10:21 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, since the last post I’ve read some better bloggers on goal setting in writing.

The Happy Writer is a blog I want to spend a lot more time exploring. She has an excellent post on Happy Goal Setting. Love this idea-

If you make only one resolution this year, looking at the first definition of resolution listed above, make it this one:  I resolve to find ways to be happy in my writing life, to free my creativity by letting go of the tension I feel about my yet-to-be-accomplished goals and the things I have no control over.

It does seem to me that by setting far less ambitious writing goals than I normally do, I have more chance of actually achieving them.

Also, a nice post here by SuperRomance author Holly Jacobs about the difference between dreams and goals.

 

5 Responses to “More on goal setting”

  1. Those are some great links. And the dreams v goals things is so important to think about. You can work towards a dream like getting published or making a list, but you’ve no control over it.

  2. Nas Says:

    Thanks for the great links.

  3. I’ve changed my daily pg count goals to a number that I can achieve most days. It’s made a big difference and I don’t always feel like I’m behind desperately trying to catch up. I definitely feel happier about writing. Thanks for the links.

  4. eileen Says:

    I need to check out these links. I’ve been reading Kristen Lamb’s blog on the topic http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/ (particularly in the first week after the new year she did a bunch on goal setting stuff) and b/c of that blog I’ve been reading EAT THAT FROG! a self-help book.

    Another one that I love is Carrie Vaughn’s podcast for Odyssey Workshop (podcast #38 http://www.sff.net/odyssey/podcasts.html ) where she distinguishes between milestones and goals — milestones being things you can measure but can’t influence and goals being things you can influence. It’s really changed the way I think about “working on my writing career” because as she divides it up I can’t influence who buys my story (or if it gets bought) but I can influence whose desk it ends up on, or how much I work on it.

  5. waitingforthecall Says:

    Great links, thanks Eileen!

    It does make a huge difference, doesn’t it, anne, so much nicer not always feeling like we’re running to catch up.

    Hi Nas and Julia!


Leave a Reply

