Waiting for "The Call"

“Honey, it’s always crap. Every book I write is crap. It’s my job to fix the crap afterwards,” according to Nora Roberts. Well, I've got it half right. Still working on the "fixing it" part. "Trust your characters to be complex enough and to have enough emotional baggage. Force them to make hard choices." Advice from Michelle Styles that might help!

New Wallpaper? January 25, 2011

Filed under: Writing and Life — Autumn Macarthur @ 9:26 pm
Tags: ,

You know that old story about the big name writer who got so many rejections before they got accepted they wallpapered a room with them?

I think I will be able to do the same soon! Just got the rejection for my So You Think You Can Write Entry.

I kinda knew it was coming, so I’m not surprised. I subbed to the wrong line, and my synopsis was all wrong, especially for the line I decided to sub to. The story is meant for SuperRomance, but seemed a bit too sexually driven, more Blazeish, so that’s where I subbed. Only problem was, I wrote a SuperRomance synopsis. So I expected the rejection.

Also, the story has changed a lot as I’ve continued writing it. I’m almost relieved to get the R. It would have been messy to get a request for more.

Truly, I am relieved! And I know my story is all wrong for Blaze. Yet there’s still that kicked in the guts feeling. My writing wasn’t good enough, once again.

I’ll keep writing, finish the story. It could well work as a Super. Once I have a little cry.

 

12 Responses to “New Wallpaper?”

  1. I think I did just what you did: I wrote a story for one line and then the synopsis for another. The rewrite really made this clear to me. I really need to think about the direction I want to go and stick with one story.

  2. Les Edgerton Says:

    I’m sure you knew who the “big-name writer” was, but just in case, it was F. Scott Fitzgerald and how it came to pass was that his babe, Zelda, said she wouldn’t marry him until he sold something. A novel, a short story… heck, even a kidnap note that paid off… anything. And, this was the Golden Age of publishing when it was infinitely easier to get published than it is today, and even so, he ended up papering all four walls of his bedroom before he sold his first story. Perseverance! That was also in the day of Maxwell Perkins, who “saved” a great number of writer’s novels and probably should be listed as the real author on many of them. If Fitzgerald hadn’t gotten published, we might never have heard of a guy named Ernest Hemingway, as it was at F. Scott’s insistence that Perkins ever looked at Hemingway’s work and published A Sun Also Rises.

  3. waitingforthecall Says:

    Hugs on your rejection, Julia! It’s good to be able to learn from the experience. It all goes to make us better writers. In the meantime, be extra kind and gentle to yourself.

  4. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks Les! I actually couldn’t recall who it was, and was too busyto Google it. Great story. I wonder how big his bedroom was? I’m alsowondering if I should try my hand at kidnap notes instead … (only joking)

  5. Linda Cacaci Says:

    Hi,
    I also got a reject from Harlequin for SYTYCW. I thought I would have gotten a ‘yes’, we want to see your story. They said the story wasn’t strong enough for them to continue. I looked at the story. Oh, my, they were right. I was working on a trilogy. Throw out the first one. I think the second book has a stronger story. Lick my wounds and get back on the horse. I wish I had known this sooner. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have spent so long on the book, but wait, no time is wasted. I think I learned a little more about writing. So when we do get The Call, we definitely will have earned it!!!
    Linda Cacaci

  6. Les Edgerton Says:

    Also meant to say I commiserate with you on the rejection but that just means it’s closer to a yes. My first novel garnered 86 rejections if that helps… And, just this week, I think I sold a novel I’d written 28 years ago. I hadn’t sent it out as it was so dark I didn’t think an American publisher would publish it, but as it happens I made a friend who’s an editor and loves dark stuff and he read it and went crazy. He’s actually flying to Boston to personally push it to the house he thinks will go for it and, like me, thinks it’s geared perfectly for the European market and has a French publisher he thinks will love it. You never know… Keep the faith!

  7. Oh Commiserations! But at least you realise WHY and know that its just the wrong place not the wrong story! I have almost enough R’s to paper my house now!!
    x
    Rach!

  8. Hugs Jane. Sounds like the story could go to Super then? Keep going. It’s not the writing, okay? Your writing is awesome. It’s just getting the right story for the right line! And you can do that. 🙂

  9. <> Jane. Sorry about the R but sounds like you have a plan for the story. Always good to look forward!

  10. Caroline Storer Says:

    Hugs on the dreaded “R” Boo Hiss I say. Have a good cry/rant etc and then forget it. One day you will be published! Caroline x

  11. waitingforthecall Says:

    Thanks guys! I had my pouty moment about it last night, got over it, and am all better now.

    Already know how to make the story stronger!

    I have my fingers crossed for everyone who hasn’t heard yet that they get requests…


Leave a Reply

